Recent Searches

Carrara: Exclusive Marble Cave Jeep Tour Adventure

Colonnata, Italy
Carrara: Exclusive Marble Cave Jeep Tour Adventure

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...

Safety measures
icon2 hours 18 minutes  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 2 more
Good for avoiding crowds


Journey deep into the jagged world of the Carrara marble quarries on this 4WD adventure. Exploring with a guide in a group no larger than six, discover the “white gold” that built the Pantheon and Michelangelo’s David. Learn about ancient and modern excavation techniques at a historic quarry; tour an open sky quarry, a terraced quarry, and an underground quarry; and taste the local marble-aged cold cut, “lardo di Colonnata”.
  • Explore the surreal landscapes of the Carrara marble quarries by 4WD
  • Enjoy personal attention from your guide in a group no larger than six
  • Sample the area’s signature cold cut, “lardo di Colonnata”
  • Learn about the different techniques used to mine this precious rock
Saved to wishlist!
1 licensed guide service
1 tour by 4x4 vehicles
1 Lardo of Colonnata IGP tasting
Insurance (by law)
Marble quarries tour
everything not mentioned in inclusions

Departure Point

Strada Comunale per Colonnata, 1, 54033 Colonnata MS, Italy

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Possible pick-up/ drop-off at Carrara-Avenza train station or at the camping sites located in Marina di Massa, please ask for more information
  • Wear comfortable shoes and clothes
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 6 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Curioseety SRLS
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
What is the policy on sanitization during Carrara: Exclusive Marble Cave Jeep Tour Adventure?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
See all safety measures taken by Carrara: Exclusive Marble Cave Jeep Tour Adventure.
What is the social distancing policy during Carrara: Exclusive Marble Cave Jeep Tour Adventure?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Carrara: Exclusive Marble Cave Jeep Tour Adventure.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips

  • "The ride up the mountain on hairpin turns in a rattling old Jeep was worth the price of admission alone!!" See review


56 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 56 reviews
Great experience
, Oct 2021
The guide was very knowledgeable and the jeep tour itself was fun too. The meeting point isn't clearly marked, we drove past it at first and since phone reception isn't that good in the valley, it wasn't easy to find it.
Excellent tour!
, Sep 2021
The tour was incredible! Only problem was there were no COVID safety precautions in place. Wasn’t asked for green pass or equivalent. 8-9 people in a small jeep. Other than that……excellent experience.
, Sep 2021
Absolutely thrilling ride. Driver Heidi has a great passion for driving and telling us the many uses and qualities of marble. Really worthwhile. It's tricky to find the meeting place. Yes, when in doubt, keep going up!
Massive beautiful nature
, Sep 2021
The enormity of the quarries and the fact that this goes back 2000 years. And the fact that each massive block of marble is a treasure hunt.
Carrara by jeep a must
, Aug 2021
Fun ride in the jeep, can't imagine now the visit any other way. The Italian guide was really informed, interesting and engaging. 100% worth it!
Famous tour
, Jul 2021
The hole tour and that the tour was in german :). Nice people, lot of information about the marble and the region.
1 traveler found this review helpful
Not Too Be Missed
, May 2021
The tour guide was excellent. He had great knowledge and his sense of humour made the tour even more fun and enjoyable. This was an extremely educational and worthwhile experience that should be on everyone's itinerary when visiting this region.
1 traveler found this review helpful
Super terrible
, Jan 2020
First of all, I contacted the website several times about the station pick-up by calling, but nobody answers me. Later, I contacted the tour group by mail. They responded that the transfer required 15 euros per person and asked us to wait at the station at 1:30. I responded to the email said we can go to mountain meeting point by ourselves , and no one answered the email. I didn't receive the email so in the morning I re-sent it to make sure they knew. After we arrived at the station, we didn't see anyone at 1.30, so we took a taxi to the meeting point on the mountain by ourselves, but no one was found at all. In the period, no one called me or received any emails. Finally I contacting the tour group in 2:15, they informed me that they cancelled because they did not see us. We were very angry. The three of us made a special trip from Florence and now we just want to return to fund.(from booking until we arrive,nobody call us , I even ask for call back before three days, but still no one contact us.)
icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
hello . sorry to hear that. first of all nobody contacted us . We asked you 2 times if the pick up at the station was ok but you only replied the night before. We also called you twice but you did not replied. So please next time please make sure you check the email properly.
, Oct 2019
The ride up the mountain on hairpin turns in a rattling old Jeep was worth the price of admission alone!! Better than any exhibition ride!! But I f you are afraid of heights, this isn’t for you! The information provided was also very interesting. It made me understand and appreciate the works of the Various Italian sculptors much better. And it made me really appreciate the beauty of the Carrara marble in my home! One of my most favourite your of all!!
Leider weit weg von EXKLUSIV und ein Chef der sich gleich zu Beginn seine Gäste beschimpft !
, Oct 2021
Wir haben diese Tour meinem marmorbegeisterten Vater zum Geburtstag geschenkt und eine exklusive, max. auf 6 Personen begrenzte, DEUTSCHsprachige Tour gebucht. Da wir 5 keine andersartigen Infos bekamen orientierten wir uns am Treffunkt der am Viator-Ausdruck angegeben war, leider nicht mit dem Abfahrtsort identisch. Nach einem Anruf beim Chef des Unternehmes wurden wir dort ungeduldig und sehr unfreundlich erwartet, obwohl wir 5 min vor Abfahrt anwesend waren !! Unfreundlich erklärte er uns er hätte versucht uns via Mail zu kontaktieren was definitiv nicht der Fall war. Er scheuchte uns in einen Jeep in dem bereits 5 Personen warteten, wir wiesen darauf hin dass wir eine DEUTSCHsprachige Tour für 5 Personen gebucht haetten. Seine pampige Erklärung-auf Englisch- war dass es diese nicht gäbe, Deutsch sein keine Weltsprache und wir wären zu faul gewesen bei ihm direkt zu buchen sondern haben das dummerweise über Viator getan sonst würssten wir das, also wären wir selbst schuld! So mit seinen zahlenden Gästen zu sprechen zeugt wohl von einer Überheblichkeit die seinesgleichen sucht. Keine Hygienemaßnahme, keine Kontrolle des grünen Passes, auf engstem Raum mit insgesamt 10 (!!!!) Personen in 1 Jeep!! Wir sind alle 5 mehrsprachig aber wollten es meinen Eltern einfach machen, nochdazu wurde diese Tour via Viator auf deutsch angeboten. Unser Guide hat die Sache gut gemacht, die Stimmung aber war dahin. Das impertinente Verhalten des Chefs ist nicht tolerierbar und höchst unprofessionell, Leistungen werden angeboten aber nicht erfüllt, das Geld dafür aber gerne angenommen. Aufgrund dieses Erlebnis mit dem Inhaber würde ich jedem von dieser Tour abraten, schade, denn unser weiblicher Guide war äusserst bemüht dieses Erlebnis doch nocht zu etwas Besonderem zu machen, so ganz nebenbei versuchte sie manche Infos und Fragen auch auf deutsch mit meinem Vater zu besprechen, ganz toll ! Danke an sie, eine angenehme Erscheinung nach diesem Versuch des Chefs uns vor allen anderen niederzumachen. Verkostung des Lardo ist ein Witz und pure Zeitverschwendung, 2 minischeibchen gehen nirgends als Verkostung durch und sind verzichtbar ! Sparen Sie sich dieses Erlebnis, buchen Sie dort wo Sie die gebuchte Leistung auch erhalten !!!!!
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
I am sorry you did not experience what expected. Unfortunately that day we had many overbooking and our boss was a bit overwhelmed. However nobody acted in an unpolite and arrogant way. We are professional so i want to underline that. Regarding the lardo tasting it's a "tasting" as the word indicate it 's just a way for you to savour famous lardo. It is not a lunch as you probably expected. Hope to host you again

Compare Similar Experiences

Carrara: Exclusive Marble Cave Jeep Tour Adventure
Carrara: Exclusive Marble Cave Jeep Tour Adventure


2 hours 18 minutes

Free Cancellation



2 hours

Free Cancellation



4 hours

Free Cancellation



3 hours

Free Cancellation



3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation



3 hours

Free Cancellation



45 minutes

Free Cancellation



1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation


Explore Similar Things to Do